## Regional University System of Oklahoma

## **RESOLUTION**

WHEREAS, Dr. Heidi Thoden will retire as Clinical Associate Professor of Optometry at Northeastern State University Oklahoma College of Optometry on June 1, 2025; and

**WHEREAS,** Dr. Thoden has served faithfully and honorably at Northeastern State University since 1996, starting as adjunct faculty, progressing to Clinical Assistant Professor in 1998, and to Clinical Associate Professor in 2003, serving the institution for 29 years, educating future optometric physicians; and

**WHEREAS**, Dr. Thoden previously served as Director of External Clinical Programs and Chief of the Rural Eye Program; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Thoden has served as Chief of Optometry Services at the rural eye program clinic at Cherokee Nation Health Services, Wilma P. Mankiller Health Clinic since 2014; and

**WHEREAS**, Dr. Thoden received the Northeastern State University Circle of Excellence Award for Service for 2008-2009; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Thoden was a co-recipient of the "Oklahoma Young Optometrist of the Year" award given by the Oklahoma Association of Optometric Physicians in 2004; and

**WHEREAS**, through her commitment to the highest ideals of her profession, Dr. Thoden is deserving of special recognition for the impact she has had on Northeastern State University Oklahoma College of Optometry's students, residents, and the thousands of patients she has served in communities throughout Northeastern Oklahoma;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Regional University System of Oklahoma bestow upon Dr. Heidi Thoden, the honorary title of "Clinical Associate Professor Emeritus of the Northeastern State University Oklahoma College of Optometry" and extend to her an expression of commendation and appreciation for her contributions to the success of Northeastern State University and wish for her continued prosperity, good health, and a feeling of satisfaction so rightly deserved by one who has served so faithfully and honorably as an educator for the students of Oklahoma; and

**BE IT FURTHERMORE RESOLVED** that this Resolution be entered into the official minutes of the Regional University System of Oklahoma and a copy, signed by the Chair of the Board, be forwarded to **Dr. Heidi Thoden** in Park Hill, Oklahoma.

ADOPTED by the Regional University System of Oklahoma this	day of	, 2025
Regent Jane McDermott, Chair Regional University System of Oklahoma		
ATTEST:		
Regent Amy Anne Ford, Secretary		

Regional University System of Oklahoma